Don't like to disable or lock the default routes and trains? Your answer is here

 
  PhilChorusch Chief Commissioner

Location: Banned
This thread explains to all the users who wish not to disable or lock the default routes and trains but don't want to use them anymore by deleting them for more room on their HDD to add more new routes and trains to their MSTS

WARNING: Before you do start deleting any of the default routes, trains and consists please make a backup
WARNING 2: Before you go ahead with the following steps, you will need at least one ROUTE with an ACTIVITY otherwise MSTS will crash
to desktop or will not respond until you do create an activity

Ok, lets get started.

Step1) Open the Routes folder from your MSTS installation, default installaion of MSTS is
C:Program FileMicrosoft GamesTrain Simulator

The default routes are titled "EUROPE1, EUROPE2, JAPAN1, JAPAN2, USA1, USA2 and TUTORIAL ROUTE"

Step2) Open one of the default routes one at a time and select and delete every folders and files except

ENVFILES, SHAPES, SOUND, TERRTEX, and TEXTURES (DO NOT DELETE THESE FOLDERS OR FILES)

Step3) Now open the Consists folder and select all the default consists files and delete them all

Step4) Now open the trainset folder and delete all the default trains

WARNING: You must not delete these folders

380, ACELA, CLASS50, DASH9, DEFAULT, GP38, HHP, KIHA31, MK1CARRIAGES, SCOTSMAN, SD402, SERIES2000, and SERIES7000

Step5) Open each of the above default trains and delete everything in the folder except the CABVIEW and SOUND folders and files

WARNING: Do not delete the DEFAULT train folder or the files within, this folder and files should be left alone

End of steps, please make sure you backup before deleting any of the default routes, trains and consists and most important is to have at least one route with an activity

You may leave your feedback, questions or concerns
Kind Regards, Phil

To answer any questions related to the installme files found in most routes that require the files from the default routes... Yes, it will still work normally if you do not delete any of the folders and files above

To answer any questions related to the trains and wagons that use default cabviews, sounds etc... Yes, they will also work normally if you do not delete any of the Cabviews or Sounds within the default trains above... Just remember the Default folder is to be left alone so you do not do anything to this folder or any of the files located inside

Sponsored advertisement

Display from:   

Quick Reply

We've disabled Quick Reply for this thread as it was last updated more than six months ago.